MHA program installs Upsilon Phi Delta Honor Society chapter

Upsilon Phi Delta logo
Online Programs
Student Life
Why Pfeiffer

The Master of Health Administration (MHA) program at Pfeiffer University announces the installation of an Upsilon Phi Delta (UPD) Honor Society chapter, offered through the Association of University Programs in Health Administration (AUPHA). Charter members will be inducted on Sat., July 22 at a ceremony to be held at Mouzon United Methodist Church, 3100 Selwyn Ave., Charlotte.

Upsilon Phi Delta membership at Pfeiffer is available to qualified graduate students and faculty members. (Membership will be extended in the future to MHA alumni and students of Pfeiffer’s undergraduate health administration programs.) Its mission is to recognize, reward and encourage academic excellence in the study of healthcare management and policy. Ninety-five current MHA students have been accepted for charter membership by meeting membership criteria of 18 hours of completed coursework and a 3.5 GPA. Several faculty members will be inducted as well as honorary members Dr. Colleen Perry Keith, president, and Dr. Tracy Espy, provost and vice president for academic affairs. They join UPD members at 109 other U.S. colleges and universities dedicated to professional excellence in health administration.

“The addition of a Upsilon Phi Delta chapter at Pfeiffer underscores a commitment to promoting activities that emphasize the standards, ideals, competence and ethics in healthcare management, policy, and leadership,” said Vernease Miller, dean, Division of Applied Health Sciences. “The overwhelming response of students, alumni and faculty to charter membership is a reflection of Pfeiffer’s continued commitment to servant leadership.”

Dr. Gwydolan Swain, associate director and associate professor of health administration and a UPD member, led the charter process for Pfeiffer. Faculty members accepted for charter membership at Pfeiffer are Dr. Vernease Miller, Dr. David Hollar, Dr. Caroline Hohensee, Dr. Katarina Ivanov, Dr. James Leist, Dr. Elisa Melvin, Dr. Jon Martin, Dr. Jamal Nahavandi, Dr. Nur Onvural, Dr. Barnett R. Parker, Dr. Joel Vickers and Dr. Carol Vogt. Dr. Howard Beatty and Dr. Brian Lengers already are members.

Pfeiffer’s MHA program, which is the largest in the Carolinas and whose graduates hold leadership positions with every major North Carolina- and South Carolina-based healthcare system, combines rigorous business and healthcare administration academics with practical experience for mastering the managerial, financial, legal and ethical considerations of today's competitive health services environment. It is offered in Charlotte, N.C., and Raleigh-Durham, N.C., onsite at several partner organizations, and online, where it is rated a top U.S. online health administration program. For more information, visit