Dr. Gwyndolan Swain Named Webb Award for Excellence in Teaching Recipient

Dr. Swain - Webb Award
Why Pfeiffer

In honor of Mary E. Foster Webb and Henry Thomas "Toby" Webb, the Webb Family and Pfeiffer University have named Associate Professor of Health Administration, Dr. Gwyndolan Swain, as the first recipient of The Webb Award for Excellence in Teaching.

For more than 35 years, Dr. Swain has held leadership roles as a registered nurse in hospitals, home health, physician's practices, human resources, long term care, and operational leadership and has leveraged her experience to provide the highest level of education to her students.

"Out of all of my professors, Dr. Swain has consistently been there for me, providing guidance, support, and discipline when needed," said one student. "It was Dr. Swain who encouraged me to pursue my masters of health administration. I'm glad she did."

The Webb Award for Excellence in Teaching is the highest teaching award a full-time faculty member can receive at Pfeiffer University. The award is by student nomination and can only be received by faculty members who have completed a minimum of five years of service at Pfeiffer University. Recipients of the award receive a cash prize and an amount to be used for approved professional development.

The Webb Award for Excellence in Teaching is made possible by a newly established endowment by Tom Webb and his sister Fossie Webb Lathan to honor their late parents Mary E. Foster Webb and Henry Thomas "Toby" Webb. In 1947 the Webb family left Chapel Hill, North Carolina and relocated to Albemarle, North Carolina, to begin their careers in education. Mrs. Webb worked as an elementary teacher in Albemarle beloved by students and colleagues. Dr. Webb, who received his honorary doctorate from Pfeiffer, served the Albemarle City School system in several capacities, including Superintendent. Both Dr. and Mrs. Webb dedicated their lives to education and sought excellence in the classroom. Through The Webb Award for Excellence in Teaching, their commitment to education continues.